Laurens County was typical of the rest of South Carolina in statewide races and with the rest of the Third Congressional District in re-electing incumbent – and Laurens County resident – Jeff Duncan.

Duncan was elected to his fifth term in the U.S. House by defeating Anderson educator Mary Geren. In the county, Duncan received 13,245 votes to Geren’s 6,871. He received 66.11 percent of the vote in the county and roughly 68 percent district-wide.

Henry McMaster, the unelected incumbent, defeated Democratic challenger James Smith by a vote of 12,865-7,384 in Laurens County. He won 63.43 percent of the county vote and 56 percent statewide.

Republicans swept to easy victories across the board, both here and across the state.

In the county, Mark Hammond won Secretary of State over Melvin T. Whittenburg (13,359-6, Curtis Loftis was re-elected Treasurer over Rosalyn Glenn (13,185- 6,816). Alan Wilson remained Attorney General by defeating Constance Anastopoulo (13,121-7,128). Superintendent of Education Molly Mitchell Spearman took the county vote over Israel Romero (13,655-6,447). Hugh Weathers won Commissioner of Agriculture over candidates representing two minor parties (Green and United Citizens).

Laurens County voters voted down a statewide constitutional amendment that would have made State Superintendent of Education an appointed rather than an elected position. The “no” votes dominated, 12,706-6,717. Voters statewide rejected the amendment, as well.