Laurens County celebrated another peaceful transfer of power on Thursday morning as public servants elected in November took the oath of office.

County attorney Sandy Cruickshanks delivered said oath. Councilman David Pitts, whose District 7 seat was not up for renewal this year, delivered the prayer. Others in the same position – chair Joe Wood of District 2, Garrett McDaniel of District 3 and Diane Anderson of District 6 – attended, and the atmosphere was one of friendliness and optimism.

Taking the oath were Council newcomers Kemp Younts in District 1 and Jeffrey Carroll in District 5 and incumbent Stewart Jones in District 4, as well as incumbent Auditor Jim Coleman, Probate Judge Kaye Fridy and Treasurer Cindy Burke.

The oath is conveniently inclusive and generic: “I do solemnly swear that I am duly qualified, according to the Constitution of this State, to exercise the duties of the office to which I have been elected, and that I will, to the best of my ability, discharge the duties thereof, and preserve, protect, and defend the Constitution of this State and of the the United States. So help me, God.”