Racing Report: Rushton wins fourth race of 2016 at LCS



Dale Timms was a man on a mission Saturday. A double mission. Accomplished.

Timms, after winning at Cherokee Speedway in Gaffney, came to Laurens for the main event of the SECA 604 Crate Division Saturday night and ran away with a comfortable victory over Brandon Carpenter, beating him by 3.839 seconds.

Pat Lindsay finished third, Bradley Silvers fourth and Danny Howell fifth.

Brad Rachels, the division leader in points, did not race Saturday, allowing Howell to cut 30 points off Rachels’ lead with four weeks to go in the season. Rachels, though, still has a comfortable lead of 107 points.

Howell had hoped to cut further into the point lead, but his night was essentially done in during the heat race when he was caught up in a wreck and suffered severe nose damage. He was able to make it out for the main event but could race only one lap before calling it a night.

Timms started from the back of the field after missing the heats. He quickly found his way to the front by lap 7.

Limited: In the best race of the night, Taylor Puckett surged past Frank Coates and routed the field in the Robert Godfrey Jr. Memorial Race, winning by more than eight seconds. Coates was second, followed by Josh Richeson, Bryson Harper and David Minton to round out the top five.

Coates held the lead at the start and had to deal primarily with Richeson, who was in second in the early going. Richeson tried to get close enough to Coates to challenge for the lead, but Puckett – who started on the outside of Row 1 – eventually got back to second place on lap 7. Coates still held the lead near the halfway mark, but Puckett was finally able to get side-by-side with Coates and, on lap 15, get his way past Coates and grab the lead in the 40-lap main event.

Puckett won $2,000 for taking the top spot in the race.

As for the points race, Coates earned 45 points for finishing second and pushed his lead to 204 points. That puts Coates in position to clinch the division title in as little as the next two weeks.

Thunder Bombers: Scott Pulley won the main event, with Chris Lyons second, Dan Lawson third and Dylan Chappell fourth. Lawson, as a result, now holds a 94-point lead on Chappell for the points title, and a 96-point lead on Pulley.

Pulley got the lead from the start and managed to turn back some early challenges before a caution came out on lap 4. That bunched the field back together before Pulley and Lyons eventually held the top two spots, but Lyons could not get close enough to put a serious challenge into Pulley for the No. 1 spot.

602 Crate: Chris Patterson took the top spot in the main event, with Larry Timms second and Colby Cannon third. Colt Smith, the points leader, finished sixth to push his point lead over Michael Smith to 287 points, all but clinching the points title.

The race got going on the second attempted green flag, with Cannon trying to edge his way from the outside of Row 1 to the lead, but Patterson managed to hold him at bay and secure the top spot. Patterson remained in the top position through a caution on lap 3, one that sent Colt Smith off for a time.

Patterson and Timms found themselves in a good battle for the top spot after the lap 3 restart, separating themselves from the rest of the field.

4-Cylinder: Aaron Summitt held off Jeffery McGuirt by .821 seconds to win. Phillip Wilson, the points leader in the division, was third, pushing his points lead over Scott Nelson to 179 points. Nelson finished fifth.

Summitt used the outside line at the start of the main event to grab the lead, and soon found himself pulling away from the rest of the field.

Front-Wheel Drive: Travis Jamieson boosted his lead in the points race by winning, with Darrien Norwood second and Billy Medlin third. Seth Smith, who was second in the point standings, did not race.

With his victory, Jamieson moved 195 points ahead of Smith, giving him a firm grasp of the season championship.