Farrah Cook.jpg

Laurens County Sheriff’s Office Investigator Farrah Cook was named Officer of the Year at the annual luncheon for that purpose at The Ridge on Tuesday.

The Waterloo native became the first woman recipient.

Cook succeeds former winners Clinton Police Lt. Tyrone Goggins, LCSO Capt. Mickey Coats and the 2018 recipient, Laurens Police Investigator J.C. Brewington. The award is presented annually during National Police Week in mid-May.

Other nominees, named officers of the year by their agencies, were LPD Capt. Heath Copeland and and CPD Lt. Phillip Wicker.

Cook has worked her way through the ranks of the LCSO from security at Johnson Detention Center, then as a patrol officer and now as an investigator.

Spartanburg County Sheriff Chuck Wright was the principal speaker at luncheon, which was attended by more than 100 people, most of whom were from the law-enforcement community.